A history of 1836 Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve Air Squadron

March 1953 - March 1957



No. 1836 squadron officially re-formed at RNAS Culham on March 28th 1953 as an RNVR fighter squadron by redsignating 1832A squadron as 1836, Lt. Cdr (A) T. O. Adkin, RNVR in command. Together with 1832 and 1835 RNVR squadrons they formed the Southern Air Division of the RNVR. All three squadrons shared a common pool of aircraft; at that time these were Seafire F.17, Sea Fury  FB.11 and T.20 .

A Hawker Sea Fury FB.11 and aSupermarine Seafire F.17 of the Southern Air Division at RNAS Culham.

Page under construction

R.N.V.R. Air Branch disbands

Due tor defence spending cuts the R.N.V.R. Air Branch was axed in 1957, the organisation and its squadrons ceased to exist on March 10th 1957.



Content revised: 17 September 2022


Primary information sources

Additional sources:





No badge issued





Battle Honours

Norway 1944

Sabang 1944

Palembang 1945

Okinawa 1945

Japan 1945


Aircraft Types

Seafire F.17 Jun 48 - May 53

Sea Fury T.20 Oct 50 - Jun 56

Sea Fury FB.11 Aug 51 - Aug 55

Dominie 1 Jul 53 - Nov 55

Sea Balliol T.21 Mar 55 - Nov 55

Sea Vampire T.22 Jul 55 - Mar 57

Attacker FB.2 Aug 55 - Nov 56

Sea Hawk F.1 Jan 56 - Mar 57


Commanding Officers

Lt. Cdr (A) T. O. Adkin RNVR 14 Feb 1953

Lt. Cdr (A) W. L. E. Brewer RNZNVR 23  Jul 1956

Squadron disbanded 10 Mar 1957






Related items

Aircrew and squadron personnel













Add Comment

* Required information
What is the fifth month of the year?
Captcha Image
Powered by Commentics

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!

Press F5 to refresh the page after posting your comment or to hide the form

Search RN Research Archive materials on-line