A history of 1832 Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve Air Squadron

July 1947 - March 1957


Formation and work-up

No. 1832 squadron officially re-formed at RNAS Culham on July 1st 1947 as an RNVR Fighter squadron, Lt. Cdr (A) P Godfrey OBE RNVR in command. It was one of four squadrons formed in 1947 as the RNVR Air Branch, the other three were 1830 at RNAS Abbotsinch, 1831 at RNAS Stretton, and 1833 at RNAS Bramcote, 1830 was the only one to have anti-submarine tasking.

Initial equipment was 1 Harvard T.2b and 4 Seafire IIIs but these were soon replaced by 6 Seafire FR.46s. Flying took place at RNAS Culham each week-end. Pilots and Observers were required to carry out 14 days' continuous training each year, 100 hours non-continuous training (drills), and 12 week-ends on squadron duty. During this time they were expected achieve a minimum of 75 and a maximum of 125 flying hours. The two weeks of continuous annual training in air warfare and weapons training was carried out at other naval air stations; the first was at RNAS Culdrose, 28th May - 12th June 1948.

Supermarine Seafire F.17's and pilots of 1832 Squadron RNVR squadron at RNAS Culhaam.

RNVR Air Divisions created

On June 1st 1952 the squadrons of the RNVR Air Branch and its squadrons was reorganized into 5 Divisions; Scottish, Northern, Midland, Southern, and Channel. The Southern Air Division was formed at RNAS Culham initially comprising of only 1832 squadron. However on October 1st 1832A and 1832B squadrons were formed, both RNVR fighter Squadrons; these becoming 1836 and 1835 squadrons respectively, in March 1953. All three squadrons shred the pooled aircraft of the Southern Air Division.

Page under construction

R.N.V.R. Air Branch disbands

Due tor defence spending cuts the R.N.V.R. Air Branch was axed in 1957, the organisation and its squadrons ceased to exist on March 10th 1957.




Content revised: 19 September 2022


Primary information sources

Additional sources:





Motto: Robur in pace

(Strong in peace)





Battle Honours

Norway 1944

Atlantic 1944

Arctic 1944

Aircraft Types

Seafire III Jul - Nov 47

Seafire FR.46 Aug 47 - Jan 50

Seafire F.17 Jun 48 - May 53

Seafire F.15 Apr 49 - Aug 51

Harvard T.2b Jul 47 - Apr 55

Harvard T.3 Jan 48 - Feb 51

Anson 1 Jan 49 - Mar 50

Auster 5 Jan 50 - Jul 52

Sea Fury T.20 Oct 50 - Jun 56

Sea Fury FB.11 Aug 51 - Aug 55

Dominie 1 Jul 53 - Nov 55

Sea Balliol T.21 Mar 55 - Nov 55

Sea Vampire T.22 Jul 55 - Mar 57

Attacker FB.2 Aug 55 - Nov 56

Sea Hawk F.1 Jan 56 - Mar 57


Commanding Officers

Lt. Cdr (A) P. Godfrey OBE RNVR 1 Jul 1947

Lt. Cdr (A) G. M. Rutherford MBE DSC RNVR 7 Dec 1948

Lt. Cdr (A) G. R. Willcocks DSC RNVR 1 Jun 1952

Lt. Cdr (A) M. R. H. Shippey RNVR 27 Nov 1953

Lt. Cdr (A) T. C. Fletcher RNVR 30 Sep 1955

Lt. Cdr (A) A. J. Austin RNVR 12 Jul 1956

Squadron disbanded 10 Mar 1957





Related items

Aircrew and squadron personnel













Add Comment

* Required information
How many letters are in the word two?
Captcha Image
Powered by Commentics

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!

Press F5 to refresh the page after posting your comment or to hide the form

Search RN Research Archive materials on-line